return to Forum Europe website


Committee of the Regions

Committee of the Regions

Committee of the Regions

The mission of the Committee of the Regions (CoR) is to involve regional and local authorities in the European decision-making process at the earliest stage through:
    ▪    mandatory consultation by the European Commission, the European Parliament and the Council of Ministers on key policy areas of regional concern
    ▪    own-initiative opinions enabling the CoR to put issues on the EU agenda.
The 344 members of the CoR carry out this work through six thematic commissions and five plenary sessions, consultations with national and European associations as well as networks and platforms of regions and cities set up to exchange information on EU priority issues.
In this section read more about the day-to-day work of the Committee of the Regions.


Covenant of Mayors

The Covenant of Mayors

The Covenant of Mayors

The European Union (EU) is leading the global fight against climate change, and has made it a top priority. Its ambitious targets are spelt out in the EU Climate Action and Energy Package , which commits Member States to curb their CO2 emissions by at least 20% by 2020. Signatories of the Covenant of Mayors contribute to these policy objectives through a formal commitment to go beyond this target through the implementation of their Sustainable Energy Action Plan.



Wed 2 March, 2011 09.00 to
Thu 3 March, 2011 18.00




The Committee of Regions

Rue Belliard 99-101
B - 1040 Brussels

Tel: +32 228 222 11



Denis Baupin

President Bresso

Vanessa Sánchez Ortega

Christian Krämer

Commissioner Oettinger

Erwin Dolmans

Christa Anderson

Willy Tomboy

Soraya Smaoun

Göran Näslund



Forum Europe